eSports facebook eSports twitter

eSports Industry Award Winners 2017

17 November 2017 12:22

There were twenty-two winners at the eSports Industry Awards 2017, held on Monday 13th November at The Brewery, London. The event, sponsored by NowTV, was split into Industry awards for the companies and organisations that have helped eSports thrive, and the Player awards for the gamers who have made the action so exciting this past year.

The black-tie event had fans submit their nominations before a voting process began in late June. The nominees were also reviewed by an illustrious eleven-person judging panel.

One of the biggest prizes of the night was for the Personality of the Year, awarded to Eefje ‘Sjokz’ Depoortere – a LoL talent member – ahead of other nominees including Soren 'Bjergsen' Bjerg and Michael 'Shroud' Grzesiek.

The LoL World Championships were crowned the Live Event of the Year, which saw Samsung Galaxy triumph 3-0 over SK Telecom 1 in an outstanding grand final to take home $1,723,721.63.

Elsewhere, CS:GO was named Game of the Year for the second year in a row, fighting off competition from the likes of DOTA 2, Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare and Overwatch. The first-person shooter continues to be one of the biggest names out there in the eSports industry, and can surely look forward to another stellar year in 2018.

COD player Matthew ‘FormaL’ Piper was the only person to win two awards on the night, picking up Play of the Year and Console Player of the Year.

A full list of winners are shown below:

Industry Awards

  • Breakthrough Game of the Year - PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds
  • Coverage Website of the Year - ESPN
  • Commercial Partner of the Year - G-FUEL
  • Game of the Year - Counter-Strike: Global Offensive
  • Hardware Provider of the Year - Intel
  • Journalist of the Year - Duncan ‘Thorin’ Shields
  • Photographer of the Year - Joe Brady
  • Publisher of the Year - Riot Games
  • Videographer of the Year - Davis ‘OpTic Hitch’ Edwards
  • Streamer of the Year - Dr. Disrespect
  • Streaming Platform of the Year - Twitch

Player Awards

  • Play of the Year - Matthew ‘FormaL’ Piper
  • Broadcaster of the Year - Alex ‘Machine’ Richardson
  • Console Player of the Year - Matthew ‘FormaL’ Piper
  • Live Event of the Year - League of Legends World Championship
  • PC Player of the Year - Amer ‘Miracle-‘ Al-Barqawi
  • Personality of the Year - Eefje ‘Sjokz’ Depoortere
  • Rookie of the Year (Console) - Victor ‘Punk’ Woodley
  • Rookie of the Year (PC) - Abay ‘HObbit’ Khassenov
  • Team of the Year - OpTic Gaming
  • Unsung Hero of the Year - Megan ‘RheingoldRiver’ Cutrofello
  • UK Player of the Year - Spencer ‘Gorilla’ Ealing


Published on:
Updated on: 2018-11-27

Previous Next