eSports facebook eSports twitter

2018 Call of Duty World League Championship Preview

7 August 2018 15:24

The sixth annual Call of Duty (COD) championships take place in Columbus, United States, as the nine-month 2018 Call of Duty World League (CWL) season comes to an end with the show-stopping main event involving the best 32 teams on the planet.

There have been Major events in cities such as Dallas, New Orleans and Seattle this year, but attention now turns to Columbus as teams battle it out to be crowned World Champions for the 2018 COD: World War II season and receive a majority share of the lucrative $1.5 million prize pool.

The Format

The five-day event, regarded as the highlight of the CWL calendar, begins on Wednesday 15th August. The two-day group stages are held at the MLG Arena before switching to the Nationwide Arena for the knockout stages.

The group stage sees 32 teams split into eight round-robin groups in a 4x4 mode. All matches are best-of-five and the top two teams from each group go through to the knockout stages. The knockout stages are a best-of-five double-elimination bracket, open to the public, with a Winners bracket and Losers bracket.

In the grand final, the team from the Winners bracket of the draw must win one best-of-five series, and the team from the Losers bracket of the draw needs to win two best-of-five series’ to prevail.

The Teams

12 of the teams have come through Stage 1 of the CWL Global Pro League, held between 23rd January and 8th April, with four teams progressing from the Pro League Relegation tournament. The remaining 16 teams have reached this stage thanks to the Last Chance Qualifiers. The competing outfits are shown in their respective groups below, along with their route of qualification:

Group A

  • Team Kaliber – Stage 1
  • Epsilon eSports - Relegation
  • Heretics KFC - Last Chance Qualifier
  • Lightning Pandas - Last Chance Qualifier

Group B

  • Rise Nation - Stage 1
  • Tainted Minds - Relegation
  • Lethal Gaming - Last Chance Qualifier
  • Brash eSports - Last Chance Qualifier

Group C

  • Red Reserve - Stage 1
  • Mindfreak - Relegation
  • Ghost Gaming - Last Chance Qualifier
  • Zone - Last Chance Qualifier

Group D

  • eUnited - Stage 1
  • Splyce - Stage 1
  • EZG eSports – Last Chance Qualifier
  • Team Sween - Stage 1

Group E

  • FaZe Clan - Stage 1
  • compLexity Gaming - Stage 1
  • Enigma6 Group - Last Chance Qualifier
  • Morituri eSports - Last Chance Qualifier

Group F

  • UNILAD Esports - Stage 1
  • Team Envy - Stage 1
  • Les Bleus - Last Chance Qualifier
  • Mentality Esports - Last Chance Qualifier

Group G

  • Echo Fox - Stage 1
  • Luminosity Gaming - Stage 1
  • Team Vitality - Last Chance Qualifier
  • HavoK eSports

Group H

  • OpTic Gaming
  • Evil Geniuses - Relegation
  • Elevate - Last Chance Qualifier
  • Supremacy - Last Chance Qualifier

Prize Pool

The $1.5 million is split based on a team’s overall standing:

  • 1st place - $600,0000
  • 2nd place - $200,000
  • 3rd place - $100,000
  • 4th place - $80,000
  • 5th-6th place - $55,000
  • 7th-8th place - $35,000
  • 9th-12th place - $25,000
  • 13th-16th place - $15,000
  • 17th-24th place - $12,500
  • 25th -32nd place - $10,000  

Tournament History

The first ever CWL saw Fariko Impact, now disbanded, beat Team Envy 6-5 in a pulsating grand final in 2013, followed by compLexity Gaming lifting the trophy for the first ever time twelve months later with a 3-0 win over Team Envy, runners-up two years in a row. It was Denial Esports’ turn to create history in 2015, as they narrowly saw off the challenge of Revenge 3-2 in the grand final, although Denial have now also disbanded.

Team Envy finally went one better in 2016, triumphing 3-1 over Splyce to claim a grand final victory at the third time of asking. However, Envy lost their third grand final in five years in 2017, as they went down to reigning champions OpTic Gaming. OpTic prevailed 3-0 last year in Orlando, Florida, and lived up to their billing as pre-tournament favourites with a convincing display.

The 2018 championships begin with Team Kaliber facing Lightning Pandas in Group A, so who will go all the way in 2018? Can compLexity Gaming, Team Envy or OpTic Gaming triumph once again, or might there be a new name on the trophy? Let us know your predictions on Facebook or Twitter and enjoy the action!

Pulished on: 2018-08-07

Previous Next